# **ARTNEWS**

# JOHN SIMON GUGGENHEIM MEMORIAL FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES 2016 FELLOWSHIPS

BY Alex Greenberger POSTED 04/06/16 11:54 AM

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation announced its 2016 fellowships today. A total of 175 fellowships have been awarded this year to 178 individuals in various fields. Among the fellows in the creative arts field are Sue de Beer, Judith Bernstein, and Simone Leigh.

The foundation awards fellowships annually to people who have made accomplishments in their respective fields. The amount of grant money that comes with each fellowship varies.

"These artists and writers, scholars and scientists, represent the best of the best," Edward Hirsch, the foundation's president, said. "Each year since 1925, the Guggenheim Foundation has bet everything on the individual, and we're thrilled to continue to do so with this wonderfully talented and diverse group."

Below are the list of creative arts winners.

#### **Biography**

Craig Seligman

# Choreography

Camille A. Brown Michelle Ellsworth Emily Johnson Juliana F. May Raphael Xavier

#### **Drama & Performance Art**

Taylor Mac Christina Masciotti Muriel Miguel Betty Shamieh Kate Valk

# Fiction

Jesse Ball
Jennifer Clement
Amity Gaige
Laila Lalami
Jenny Offill
Jess Row
René Steinke
Melanie Rae Thon

#### Film-Video

Deanna Bowen
Robert Boyd
Joe Brewster
Jonas Carpignano
Ramona S. Diaz
blair dorosh-walther
Cheryl Dunye
Dee Hibbert-Jones
Kahlil Joseph
Manfred Kirchheimer
Carlos Javier Ortiz
Michèle Stephenson
Nomi Talisman
Wu Tsang
Jeremy Xido

#### **Fine Arts**

Marina Adams

Judith Bernstein
JoAnne Carson
Charles Sidney Clough
Colette
Sue de Beer
Angela Dufresne
Laurie Fendrich
Bruce M. Gagnier

Ellen Harvey
George Legrady
Simone Leigh
Chico MacMurtrie
Helen O'Toole
Bruce Porter
John Douglas Powers
J. Morgan Puett
Michelle Segre
Coleen Sterritt
Patrick Webb
Allan Wexler
Liz Young
Andrea Zittel

# **General Nonfiction**

Adam Kirsch Chris Kraus Amitava Kumar Glenn Kurtz Nick Laird Paul Lisicky Amanda Petrusich Robert Storr Sarah Payne Stuart

## **Music Composition**

Jonathan Berger
Edmund Campion
Anthony Cheung
Neil Feather
David Fulmer
Bryan Jacobs
Andrew Norman
Adam Roberts
Laurie San Martin
Juri Seo
Wayne Shorter
Dalit Hadass Warshaw

## **Photography**

Dru Donovan Hasan Elahi McNair Evans Lyle Ashton Harris Matthew Jensen Alex Majoli Eileen Neff Louie Palu Robin Schwartz Lida Suchy Yvonne Venegas

#### **Poetry**

Beth Bachmann Rick Barot Jericho Brown Stephen Burt Cynthia Huntington Sally Keith James Kimbrell Deborah Landau Ed Roberson Brian Turner